AB II-10


Franz Liszt


reconstructed, edited and fingered by

Albert Brussee

– An historical overview of the genesis of the cycle ‘Harmonies poétiques et religieuses’
– The cycle of 1847; parts VII-XII
– Editing principles
– Acknowledgements
– Postscript
Hymne de l´enfant à son réveil
[Pensée des morts]
La lampe du temple
[Encore un hymne]

The genesis of Franz Liszt’s Harmonies poétiques et religieuses cycle is long and complicated. Three phases may be discerned. In the first, running from 1833 to 1846, there is still no question of a complete whole. The nine, for the greater part not previously issued keyboard pieces from this first period are all assembled in: Franz Liszt. Harmonies poétiques et religieuses – Early versions (AB II-11; see there for more information). The second phase comprises the first ‘complete’ cycle Harmonies poétiques et religieuses, written down in Sketchbook N9, kept in the Goethe- and Schiller-Archiv in Weimar (GSA 60/N9). These piano pieces were created in the autumn of 1847 when Franz Liszt was a guest in Carolyne von Sayn-Wittgenstein’s wooden country house near the village of Woronince (Woronowce) in the Ukraine. The cycle comprises twelve compositions, one of which (probably the first version of the well-known Bénédiction de Dieu dans la solitude) was torn from the sketchbook. The remaining eleven, largely inspired by poems from Lamartine’s poetry collection Harmonies poétiques et religieuses, are published here for the first time in two volumes by the Music Publishing House XYZ. Volume II comprises Nos. 7, 8, 9, 10 and 12.
With a preface by Peter Scholcz, chairman of the Franz Liszt Kring, an illustrated ‘Introduction’ and detailed ‘Critical notes and suggestions for performance’.
The language is English.

See under AB III-09.

© 1997 B.V. Muziekuitgeverij XYZ – Huizen, The Netherlands, XYZ 1094.
Full-colour cover; 88 pages.
Available through the usual music channels, direct from the publisher or via AB Music Productions & Editions.
Price: € 28.95.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “AB II-10”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This edition comprises Nos. 7, 8, 9, 10 and 12 of the early version of the the cycle Harmonies poétiques et religieuses (1847) by Franz Liszt, published for the first time in 1997 by the Dutch Publishing House XYZ in two volumes. With a Foreword by Peter Scholcz, chairman of the Dutch Franz Liszt Kring, an illustrated Introduction and detailed ‘Critical notes and some suggestions for performance’.